NAHA Header


    (Volume 33: Page 347)

John R. Jenswold (1952ó1990) was at the time of his death assistant professor of history at Augsburg College. His doctoral dissertation in 1990 at the University of Connecticut titled "ĎThe Hidden Settlementí: Norwegians Encounter the City, 1880ó1930" is a major contribution to an interpretation of the American urban experience of Norwegian immigrants. The present volume is dedicated to his memory.

Odd-Stein Granhus earned an advanced degree in American studies from the University of Oslo in 1988; his dissertation was on the Norwegian-American socialist newspaper publisher and author Emil Lauritz Mengshoel. He is currently working on a history of Scandinavian-American political radicalism from the 1860s until World War II.

A. Gerald Dyste has served as pastor of Lutheran congregations of Norwegian origin, among these the ones treated in the article included here; it is based on his masterís thesis at the University of Minnesota in 1989 titled "Causes of Religious Conflicts among the Immigrants in America: A Case Study of the Norwegian Lutherans in the Christiania Settlement in Minnesota from 1854ó1904."

L. DeAne Lagerquist, assistant professor of religion at St. Olaf College, is the author of From Our Mothersí Arms: A History of Women in the American Lutheran Church (1987), and in 1991 published In America the Men Milk the Cows: Factors of Gender, Ethnicity, and Religion in the Americanization of Norwegian-American Women; she is a regular contributor of articles on topics dealing with issues of gender and religion.

Steven J. Keillor is a doctoral candidate in history at the University of Minnesota and the author of Hjalmar Petersen of Minnesota: The Politics of Provincial Independence (1987). He is currently researching the history of rural cooperatives in Minnesota.

Øyvind T. Gulliksen teaches American literature and culture at Telemark College in Bø. The chairman of the Norwegian branch of NAHA, he is particularly interested in theology and literature. In 1991 he published a study of a Synod pastor in Wisconsin entitled En Synodeprest blir teksthistorie. Søren S. Urberg i Wisconsin, 1893ó1930. He is presently doing research on Waldemar Agerís theology.

C. A. Clausen (1896ó1991) was professor emeritus of history at St. Olaf College and a member of the Associationís board of publications and contributed regularly to its publication program. He was a talented and productive translator of Norwegian.

Odd S. Lovoll is the Associationís editor and occupies the King Olav V Chair in Scandinavian-American Studies at St. Olaf College.

Arlow W. Andersen, professor emeritus of history at the University of Wisconsin-Oshkosh and a member of the Associationís board of publications, has written widely on Norwegian immigrant life. His most recent book is Rough Road to Glory: The Norwegian-American Press Speaks out on Public Affairs in 1988.

April Schultz earned a doctorate in American studies at the University of Minnesota in 1991. Her dissertation is titled "ĎA Peculiar Peopleí: Celebration, Historical Memory, and the Creation of Ethnic Identity among Norwegian Americans in the 1920s."

Rolf H. Erickson is circulation services librarian at Northwestern University Library and first vice chairman of the Association. Since 1981 he has served as chairman of the Associationís Chicago History Committee.

Helene Pran Grimsvang and Caroline S. Haslund are librarians at the University Library in Oslo.

Forrest Brown, emeritus head librarian at St. Olaf College, is the Associationís archivist.



Executive Board

Lawrence O. Hauge, Edina, Minnesota, President

Rolf H. Erickson, Evanston, Illinois, First Vice President

Lois M. Rand, Minneapolis, Minnesota, Second Vice President

Robert B. Firing, Northfield, Minnesota, Treasurer

Lloyd Hustvedt, Northfield, Minnesota, Secretary

Ruth Hanold Crane, Northfield, Minnesota, Assistant Secretary

Forrest Brown, Northfield, Minnesota, Archivist

Odd S. Lovoll, Northfield, Minnesota, Editor

Mary R. Hove, Northfield, Minnesota, Editorial Assistant

Arley R. Bjella, Edina, Minnesota

Henning C. Boe, Seattle, Washington

Joan Naglestad Buckley, Moorhead, Minnesota

J. R. Christianson, Decorah, Iowa

Karen F. Davidson, New York, New York

Russell W. Fridley, St. Paul, Minnesota

Øyvind Gulliksen, Bø, Telemark, Norway

Arthur R. Huseboe, Sioux Falls, South Dakota

Alf Lunder Knudsen, Mukilteo, Washington

William J. Korsvik, Wilmette, Illinois

Marion J. Nelson, Minneapolis, Minnesota

Todd W. Nichol, St. Paul, Minnesota

Kathleen Stokker, Decorah, Iowa

Kevin Tvedt, Sylmar, California

Solveig Zempel, Northfield, Minnesota

<<   Previous Page   |     

To the Home Page